Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2023

The second and final phase of the Chhattisgarh assembly elections kicked off on Friday, featuring a total of 958 candidates, including Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Deputy CM T S Singh Deo, eight state ministers, and four Members of Parliament, competing for victory across 70 seats.

Simultaneously, the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections are in full swing, with 230 assembly seats in contention. The battle for supremacy involves a diverse pool of 2,533 candidates, highlighting a keen contest between the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress. The counting of votes for both states is scheduled for December 3.

Chhattisgarh Chief Electoral Officer, Reena Babasaheb Kangale, provided details in a press conference, stating, “The second phase of voting for the Chhattisgarh legislative assembly will be held tomorrow. In the second phase, voting will take place across 70 legislative assembly regions in 22 districts. The voting period for all 70 legislative assemblies will be from 8 am to 5 pm.”

A total of 5,60,60,925 voters are eligible to cast their ballots on this crucial day. Notably, in the Naxal-affected Bindranawagarh area, nine polling booths are conducting elections from 7:00 am to 3:00 pm, ensuring widespread participation.

As of 11 am on Friday, the Election Commission reported a 27.62 percent voter turnout in Madhya Pradesh and a 19.65 percent turnout in Chhattisgarh during the second phase of polling. The dynamic political landscape features a tight race between the two major parties, with citizens actively exercising their democratic right. Stay tuned for further updates as the electoral process unfolds in both states.